Lord of Shadows (Dark Artifices, #2)

by Cassandra Clare

4.13 of 5 stars 15 ratings • 9 reviews • 40 shelved
Book cover for Lord of Shadows

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

Lord of Shadows (Dark Artifices, #2)

by Cassandra Clare

4.13 of 5 stars 15 ratings • 9 reviews • 40 shelved
*NEWSFLASH:Be amongst the first to read Cassandra Clare's brand-new blockbuster, The Lost Book of the White - pre-order NOW!*

Sunny Los Angeles can be a dark place indeed in Cassandra Clare's Lord of Shadows, the sequel to the #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Lady Midnight. Lord of Shadows is a Shadowhunters novel.

Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she'd be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?

And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters' demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear-before it's too late.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Holly Black and Sarah J. Maas.

Also by Cassandra Clare:

The Dark Artifices:
Lady Midnight
Queen of Air and Darkness


The Eldest Curses:
The Red Scrolls of Magic
The Lost Book of the White
  • ISBN10 1481497944
  • ISBN13 9781481497947
  • Publish Date 11 April 2017
  • Publish Status Active
  • Out of Print 25 August 2016
  • Publish Country US
  • Imprint Simon & Schuster Export
  • Format Paperback (US Trade)
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for artemisreads

Artemis 1 of 5 stars
I had a copy of this also from said friend and again it’s the same recycled story. Lord of Shadows lacked the sophistication that Clare managed to capture in the Infernal Devices. She had way too many plot lines and seemed to focus on developing a complexity that she couldn’t match in pace or style for this sequel. If I end up reading anything else in this drawn out series I will be surprised in myself.

Avatar for paperbackbri_

Brianna 5 of 5 stars
That ending though! I don't wanna wait till 2019 for the next book 😭😭 THIS DESERVES ALL THE STARS EVER

Avatar for thebookdisciple


I waited a year for Lord of Shadows after Lady Midnight left me hanging! Cassandra Clare is one of the few authors I will endure cliffhangers for. And the audio versions of these books are PERFECTION! Seriously, this one is voiced by James Marsters. SPIKE!!!! (from Buffy the Vampire Slayer). I have always loved him.

Now, you MUST read these books in order. So, if you haven't read Lady Midnight, stop reading this review and go read the book!

Lord of Shadows picks up right where Lady Midnight left off. Emma has learned about the parabati curse and turns to Mark for help. This book has a LOT going on. We are jumping from place to place and person to person as everyone has something happening. And it turns into a rubber band ball of relationships. Its not a triangle or even a square at this point. Its a giant, tangled mess! So, I am going to break this down by groups of people and what they were up to in Lord of Shadows:

Emma and Julian: These two are killing me. Julian doesn't know about the curse. He thinks Emma just doesn't want to be with him. Awkward. Eventually her ruse with Mark comes to an end (because he is involved in his own love mess!). Both of them dance around each other and never talk about anything important. I wanted to knock their heads together because they weren't acting like Emma and Julian. But, man, Julian is super swoon worthy. I love that Emma is the more powerful shadow hunter and Jules is more the thinker and artist of the two. Their time alone in Cornwall was awesome ;)

Mark, Cristina, Kieran: Oh Mark. So, Mark goes back to Farie for a trip to save Kieran with the help of Emma, Julian and Cristina. This leads to a bit of love entanglement between Mark and Cristina. Then you add in Kieran, who doesn't remember the horrible things he did to Mark and the gang, and it gets messy! However, after making a deal with the Seely Queen, they need Kieran's help, so Mark is put in an awkward position. I so flipping love Cristina!!! So, perfect Diego is back and when the centurions arrive, so does his fiancé!! Yep, he is engaged to Zara, who is probably one of the most unlikeable people on the planet. Cristina is crushed but then....Mark. But Mark still has feelings for Kieran. See what I mean about confusing rubber band ball of love?

Ty, Livvy, and Kit: These three really grew on me. Kit was so bitter and overwhelmed with his new reality that he was difficult to warm up to. But, seeing the bond form between him and Ty (who is one of my favorite characters) was so great. The three of them really complemented each other well and were truly a 3 musketeers kind of group. They are getting older now and starting to stretch their shadowhunter wings so to speak, so they get into some trouble (which leads to a savior in the form of Magnus Bane!). But, then tragedy befalls them that even Magnus can't save them from. I didn't expect it and it was more painful than I imagined.

Dru: So, prior to this, Dru has always just kind of 'been there' like Tavvy. But, we get to know her a bit more in Lord of Shadows and I think she is my spirit animal!! This girl is ME! She is insecure about her weight, people always make her feel bad, her siblings don't value her abilities beyond taking care of Tavvy, and she is kind of invisible. As she opens up and gets more involved I feel harder for her. I wanted to swoop in and hug this girl. She forms a secret friendship with Jaime when he appears at the institute in London.

Diana and Gwyn: Gwyn is the leader of the hunt and he seeks out Mark's help, then later, Mark seeks out Gwyn's. Gwyn is taken with Diana though and a weird kind of bond is formed. Diana is hiding some things in her past and for part of the story, she is in Alicante to get support for the plan Julian made with the Seelie Queen.

Vague enough? I don't want to spoil everything, but if you want spoilers, just message me! I know some people need to know before they read so they can prepare.

I cannot stress this enough: the audio is fabulous! James Marsters does a phenomenal job. The voices are exquisite and so engaging. The audio is over 24 hours long, but I loved every minute of listening to his voice. I was so sucked into this world because Marsters provides such a rich experience. Truly, he is performing the book. I don't know how Cassandra Clare picks her narrators, but she is 2 for 2 with the Dark Artifices series! Amazing!

 

  • POV: 3rd

  • Tears: at the end, yes

  • Series/Standalone: series (read in order)

  • Cliffhanger: hell yes! 





Books by Sarah J Maas, Victoria Aveyard, Veronica Roth, Jennifer L Armentrout...then you will probably like Lord of Shadows!!



Lord of Shadows







See full review on The Book Disciple

Avatar for liz089

liz089 5 of 5 stars
It is hard to describe how amazing this book was, because this one was gorgeous beyond words.
She never seems to disappoint and gets better with every book.

I LOVE the Shadowhunter world, to get back into it and feel like I'm home again.

I LOVED this novel so much, it is just a complete package, a story full with action, intrigue, mystery, love, family and a great plot that keeps surprising me.
It is not just one or two characters you fall for, but an entire book full with great characters that you grow to love. The whole Blackthorn family, Emma, Cristina, Diana, Kieran and other, well-known characters from the previous books find a way to your heart and hold on to it.

And that ending ? Heart-breaking !!!

And now ?? WE HAVE TO WAIT FOR TWO YEARS. TWO YEARS PEOPLE !!!! Wish it was 2019 already..

If it was possible I would give this one 10 stars XD So great !!!

Avatar for chelssik

Chelsea 3 of 5 stars
Actual rating - 3.5

I was a big fan of all the diversity in this series but I was a little disappointed that this seems to be one of those series where everyone gets paired up. It would have been really great if Kit and Ty for example could have just been best friends.

Plot wise, this book was a little better than the first but there was a big chunk of pages in the middle of the book that were pretty boring and it didn't really do much to the story. The beginning was really good and the ending was horribly sad but I could have skipped the entire middle and still been fine.

I really hope the next book does better because I really did love the first 3 books of the Mortal Instruments and it holds a special place in my heart. I keep hoping her other series will live up to it but so far I've mostly been disappointed.

Avatar for cocktailsandbooks

Talk about ending with a cliffhanger!! Cassandra Clare absolutely threw me for a loop with the last chapter of this book. I'm not sure how I'm going to wait until 2019 for the next book.