The Fifth Season (Broken Earth Trilogy, #1)

by N. K. Jemisin

John Anthony Di Giovanni (Illustrator)

4.3 of 5 stars 40 ratings • 14 reviews • 127 shelved
Book cover for The Fifth Season

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world, spewing ash that blots out the sun.
IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter. 
IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

Curious King Books numbered edition, featuring:

  • Limited to 200 copies
  • Numbered
  • Hand-bound in full cream goatskin with large blind-stamped title design on front and back covers
  • The rounded spine has had two passes of foil stamping and has an amethyst embedded within
  • Housed in a curved slipcase covered in marbled cloth by Freya Scott of Paperwilds, there are also two labels affixed to slipcase spine.
  • Endpapers and 8 full colour plates tipped within the book – illustrated by John Anthony Di Giovanni
  • Printed on Munken Rough Cream 120gsm by Nomad Letterpress of Cheltenham
  • Signed by both Author and Artist.
  • Publish Date 2023 (first published 4 August 2015)
  • Publish Status Forthcoming
  • Publish Country GB
  • Imprint Curious King