The Fifth Season (Broken Earth Trilogy, #1)

by N. K. Jemisin

4.28 of 5 stars 46 ratings • 17 reviews • 154 shelved
Book cover for The Fifth Season

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

Winner of the 2016 Hugo Award for Best Novel
Book 1 in the double Hugo-Award-winning trilogy

*A New York Times Notable Book*
*Shortlisted for the World Fantasy, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards*
*The inaugural book club pick*

IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world, spewing ash that blots out the sun.
IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.
IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

'Astounding' NPR
'Amazing' Ann Leckie
'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal
'Powerful' io9
'Elegiac, complex, and intriguing' Publishers Weekly
'Intricate and extraordinary' New York Times
'Brilliant' Washington Post

The Broken Earth trilogy is complete - beginning with The Fifth Season, continuing in The Obelisk Gate (Winner of the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel) and concluding with The Stone Sky (Shortlisted for the 2018 Hugo Award for Best Novel).

  • ISBN10 0316229296
  • ISBN13 9780316229296
  • Publish Date 4 August 2015
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country US
  • Imprint Orbit
  • Format Paperback (US Trade)
  • Pages 512
  • Language English