A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic)

by Elise Kova

3.8 of 5 stars 5 ratings • 3 reviews • 15 shelved
Book cover for A Deal with the Elf King

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic)

by Elise Kova

3.8 of 5 stars 5 ratings • 3 reviews • 15 shelved

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella's village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she's dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town's only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives... for her.

Everything Luella had thought she'd known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another... but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a "happily ever after" ending. It's perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

  • ISBN10 1949694275
  • ISBN13 9781949694277
  • Publish Date 6 November 2020
  • Publish Status Active
  • Imprint Silver Wing Press
  • Format Hardcover
  • Pages 338
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for shelfleigh

Leigha 3 of 5 stars

Luella makes a deal with the devil *cough* I mean elf king *cough* in this fun, if not original, fantasy romance.

While Deal with the Elf King had all the beats of an epic fantasy romance, it never quite resonated with me. The idea of a standalone romance sounds amazing, but the application of it always seems rather shallow (particularly in the first novel to a new world setting). Finding the right balance between world-building and the building of a romantic relationship is challenging. Something always seems to be sacrificed to make these elements work in a solo book, and, in this case, it was both. Luella and Eldas’ romance was built way too rapidly for it to be believable. Timing is everything – more time needed to be spent with them as a couple in addition to them as individuals. Additionally, the world building was murky and confusing as not enough time is spent developing it. Future novels set in this world will be able to explore the world-building, but this romance will always be lackluster.

tl;dr A lackluster romance and murky world-building left me feeling rather meh about this new series.

Avatar for ashley

Ashley 5 of 5 stars

So sweet and wholesome! It was everything I hoped it would be. Such a fast, addicting read too!

This was my first book by Elise Kova and I'll definitely be reading more!

Avatar for tweetybugshouse

I love stand-alone novels as it means that everything is wrapped up at the end in a neat bow. There no question that this is the book for 2020 that we all need one with a delightful happy ever after. The world-building of midscape is amazing, I felt like I was there and did not want to leave. The hunt to figure out why the previous Human Queens have not succeeded in solving the slow drain of midscape is quite interesting.

Eldas and Luella relationship has a rough start as she has no clue that she is the Human Queen he has come to her town to claim. Due to the underhanded actions of someone who claims to love her. Once the shock wears off and she accepts that this is her role now and stops feeling like she has been betrayed because she does not receive the same training as those who came before her the action heats up.

This novel does not disappoint in keeping you entranced in the story and it does not lack in the supernatural aspects and shows our author skills beyond the fantasy novels I have read previously from her. If your ready for a romance that is steamy and keeps you enthralled this is one you need to pick up this year. It the perfect escape from this year of craziness.