Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Song of the Last Kingdom, #1)

by Amélie Wen Zhao

Mona Finden (Illustrator) and Grace Zhu (Illustrator)

4.25 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 2 reviews • 13 shelved
Book cover for Song of Silver, Flame Like Night

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

In a fallen kingdom, one girl carries the key to its forgotten past – and the demons that sleep at its heart…

Once, Lan had a different name. Now, she goes by the one the Elantian colonizers gave her. She spends her days scavenging for remnants of the past. For anything that might help her understand the strange mark burned into her arm by her mother, in her last act before she died.

No one can see the mysterious mark – until the night Zen appears at the teahouse and saves her life.

Zen is a practitioner, one of the fabled magicians of the Last Kingdom, whose abilities were rumoured to be drawn from the demons they communed with. Magic believed to be long lost. Magic to be hidden at all costs.

Both Lan and Zen have secrets buried deep within. Fate has connected them, but their destiny remains unwritten. Both hold the power to liberate their land. And both hold the power to destroy the world.

A ferocious tale of romance and fate, SONG OF SILVER, FLAME LIKE NIGHT is a gift to those seeking adventure with a mythological twist.

Perfect for fans of DAUGHTER OF THE MOON GODDESS by Sue Lynn Tan, THE FINAL STRIFE by Saara El-Arifi, and IRON WIDOW by Xiran Jay Zhao.

Illumicrate box pick for February 2023 “Into the Fire." This edition features:

  • Signed by the author.
  • Exclusive cover and digitally printed edges
  • Full colour printing on the hardback by @monafinden
  • Endpaper artwork by @gracezhuart
  • Bonus content
  • Publish Date 2 February 2023 (first published 3 January 2023)
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country GB
  • Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
  • Imprint HarperVoyager