The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy, #1)

by Jen Williams

4.33 of 5 stars 3 ratings • 1 review • 26 shelved
Book cover for The Ninth Rain

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

The first in a blistering new trilogy from Jen Williams, acclaimed author of British Fantasy Award-nominated Copper Cat trilogy. Epic fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence's Red Sister.

'Fantasy adventure at its very best' Starburst

'Williams excels at eldritch world-building' Guardian

'An original new voice in heroic fantasy' Adrian Tchaikovsky

The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.

When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.

But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall...

  • ISBN10 1472235177
  • ISBN13 9781472235176
  • Publish Date 23 February 2017
  • Publish Status Out of Print
  • Out of Print 29 March 2021
  • Publish Country GB
  • Publisher Headline Publishing Group
  • Imprint Headline Book Publishing
  • Format Paperback (UK Trade)
  • Pages 544
  • Language English