The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy, #1)

by Jen Williams

The first in a blistering new trilogy from Jen Williams, acclaimed author of British Fantasy Award-nominated Copper Cat trilogy. Epic fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence's Red Sister.

'Fantasy adventure at its very best' Starburst

'Williams excels at eldritch world-building' Guardian

'An original new voice in heroic fantasy' Adrian Tchaikovsky

The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.

When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.

But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall...

Reviewed by HekArtemis on

5 of 5 stars

I can't even explain how much I enjoyed this book, it was better than I was hoping and I was hoping it would be amazing. It's part alien invasion in a fantasy setting, part developing steam world, part adventure mystery (Lara Croft or National Treasure style), part fugitive on the run, part I don't even know it was just bloody amazing. I need to get the next two books.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • Finished reading
  • 24 October, 2018: Reviewed