The Throne of the Five Winds (Hostage of Empire, #1)

by S. C. Emmett

Lisa Marie Pompilio (Cover Designer), Miranda Meeks (Illustrator), and Charis Loke (Maps)

4.5 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 2 reviews • 8 shelved
Book cover for The Throne of the Five Winds

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

Two queens, two concubines, six princes. 
Innumerable secret agendas.
A single hidden blade.

The imperial palace -- full of ambitious royals, sly gossip and unforeseen perils -- is perhaps the most dangerous place in the Empire of Zhaon. Komor Yala, lady-in-waiting to the princess of the vanquished kingdom of Khir, has only her wits and her hidden blade to protect herself and her charge, who was sacrificed in marriage to the enemy as a hostage for her conquered people's good behaviour, to secure a tenuous peace.

But the Emperor is ageing and the Khir princess and her lady-in-waiting soon find themselves pawns in the six princes' deadly schemes for the throne -- and a single spark could ignite fresh rebellion in Khir.

Then, the Emperor falls ill -- and a far bloodier game begins...

The Throne of the Five Winds is the first instalment of the Hostage of Empire series, an intricate and ruthless East Asia-inspired epic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Ken Liu, Kate Elliott, and K. Arsenault Rivera.

  • ISBN10 0316436941
  • ISBN13 9780316436946
  • Publish Date 14 November 2019 (first published 15 October 2019)
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country US
  • Imprint Orbit
  • Format Paperback (UK Trade)
  • Pages 704
  • Language English