The Teller of Small Fortunes

by Julie Leong

0 ratings • 0 reviews • 1 shelved 2024 Fantasy Pick
Book cover for The Teller of Small Fortunes

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

A wandering fortune teller finds an unexpected family in this warm and wonderful debut fantasy, perfect for readers of Travis Baldree and Sangu Mandanna.

Tao is an immigrant fortune teller, traveling between villages with just her trusty mule for company. She only tells "small" fortunes: whether it will hail next week; which boy the barmaid will kiss; when the cow will calve. She knows from bitter experience that big fortunes come with big consequences…

Even if it’s a lonely life, it’s better than the one she left behind. But a small fortune unexpectedly becomes something more when a (semi) reformed thief and an ex-mercenary recruit her into their desperate search for a lost child. Soon, they’re joined by a baker with a knead for adventure, and—of course—a slightly magical cat.

Tao sets down a new path with companions as big-hearted as her fortunes are small. But as she lowers her walls, the shadows of her past are closing in—and she’ll have to decide whether to risk everything to preserve the family she never thought she could have.
  • ISBN10 0593815912
  • ISBN13 9780593815915
  • Publish Date 5 November 2024
  • Publish Status Forthcoming
  • Publish Country US
  • Publisher Penguin Publishing Group
  • Imprint Ace