Cover of Exposed (Rosato & DiNunzio 5)

From the bestselling author of CORRUPTED and DAMAGED comes the fifth legal thriller in Lisa Scottoline's electrifying Rosato & Di Nunzio series. Perfect for fans of Lynda La Plante and Michael Connelly. When Mary DiNunzio takes on a case, she is determined to win, despite the fact that her partner Bennie Rosato is representing the opposition. A war of wills and legal strategy between Mary and Bennie forces everyone in the company to choose a side, and the law firm faces being torn apart. 'Sco...


Cover of Lot

Lot by Bryan Washington

Published 19 March 2019

Adult

One of Barack Obama’s “Favorite Books of the Year”  "Phenomenal" --Justin Torres, author of We the Animals "Brilliant" --Nicole Dennis-Benn, author of Here Comes the Sun “A profound exploration of the true meaning of borders.” —The New York Times Book Review NAMED ONE OF THE 10 BEST BOOKS OF 2019 in the New York Times by Dwight Garner A New York Times Notable Book of 2019 In the city of Houston - a sprawling, diverse microcosm of America - the son of a black mother and a Latino father is com...


Cover of The Seven Sisters

The Seven Sisters by Margaret Drabble

Published 5 September 2002

Adult

When Candida Wilton arrives alone in London, divorced and rejected and without much money, she is filled with a strange sense of excitement. What can happen, at her age, to change her fortunes? How will she adjust to this shabby, violent, yet curiously attractive city? When Candida starts writing her diary, she expects that she will fill it with the small events with which she pads out her empty life, but she has always had a secret belief that despite all she is a lucky person. And she is, in a...


Cover of Abel And Cain

Appearing together in English for the first time, two masterpieces that take on the jazz age, the Nuremburg trials, postwar commercialism, and the feat of writing a book, presented in one brilliant volume The Death of My Brother Abel and its delirious sequel, Cain, constitute the magnum opus of Gregor von Rezzori’s prodigious career, the most ambitious, extravagant, outrageous, and deeply considered achievement of this wildly original and never less than provocative master of the novel. In Abel...


Cover of Still Defiant

Still Defiant by Gary Beck

Published 11 December 2019

Adult


Cover of From Mum With Love

From Mum With Love by Louise Emma Clarke

Published 5 February 2019

Adult

Mum of one, Jess, has had enough of endless diaper-filled days, and her husband Chris has just the solution to vent her frustrations - a blog. Jess loves her daughter more than anything, but sometimes she just wants a little bit of freedom - some time for herself. Cue a laptop, a glass of wine and the beginning of a life-changing journey. Overnight Jess's inbox is full of notifications and before long she is officially a 'mummy blogger', but this new life comes with its own set of rules and re...


Cover of After December

After December by Kasie Whitener

Published 3 December 2019

Adult


Cover of The Prince and the Pauper

A peasant changes places with a prince and both youths learn something about "pleasures and palaces."


Cover of Imaginary Friends

Imaginary Friends

Published 2 September 2008

Adult

Thirteen original stories about friends conjured in times of need We?ve all had them. We?ve all needed them. In this fun fantasy anthology, readers are given thirteen variations on what kinds of friends come in handy indeed in times of need. From a toy Canadian Mountie who suddenly comes to life, to a boy and his dragon, to a young woman held captive in a tower and the mysterious being who is her only companion, these highly imaginative tales entertainingly explore the nature of what constitut...


Cover of Tennis Lessons

Tennis Lessons by Susannah Dickey

Published 16 July 2020

Adult

For fans of I MAY DESTROY YOU and FLEABAG and for readers who want to laugh and cry: the brave, beautiful, sometimes brutal story of a young misfit and her rocky road to womanhood, stopping at each year along the way. 'A raw, fierce, shockingly honest coming-of-age story' LOUISE O'NEILL 'Incredibly funny . . . by turns charming and disgusting and I loved it' NELL FRIZZELL 'Brilliant . . . a wonderful writer, hugely talented, very funny and insightful' ALAN DAVIES 'Propulsive . . . brillian...


Cover of That Ring

That Ring (That Boy, #5) by Jillian Dodd

Published 26 November 2019

Adult


Cover of Mothering Sunday

Mothering Sunday by Noel Streatfeild

Published 14 June 2018

Adult

Seventy-year-old widowed Anna Caldwell likes to be alone, happy to potter around her garden chatting to her friend Miss Poe. However, the bliss of Anna's peaceful lifestyle causes her five children much dismay.Jane, the eldest and most organised, gathers her siblings together to visit Anna on Mothering Sunday. Henry the politician, Margaret the doctor and the youngest, Felicity, all agree to attend with their partners . . . but that leaves Tony, the shadow on the family's respectable past.Carneg...


Cover of Enough Already

Enough Already by Mary Hargreaves

Published 10 June 2021

New Adult

Sharply witty and highly relatable - KATE SMITH When a junior on her team pitches an exciting new idea to her boss, Briony is so preoccupied by her fear of public speaking that she misses the concept entirely, and ends up in a spiralling web of lies and excuses as she tries to manage a project she knows nothing about. When everything comes to a head with a colossal panic attack, she is signed off work for a month on mental health leave.To make matters worse, Briony's boyfriend Ben is being dista...


Cover of Old Moorhen's Shredded Sporran

Another tongue - in - cheek romp for our intrepid decrepit heroes. Lady Amanda Golightly and her housemate Hugo Cholmondeley - Crichton - Crump return from their visit to Scotland to find a letter informing them that Hugo's sister will be arriving the following day for a month's visit, which sours Lady A's mood as Tabitha constantly bullied her at school.Her manservant's announcement that he is now betrothed to Enid Tweedie, sort of friend and general gopher for his employer, has already unsettl...


Cover of Bear Necessity

Bear Necessity by James Gould-Bourn

Published 4 August 2020

Adult


Cover of Last Seen Alone

Last Seen Alone by Laura Griffin

Published 28 September 2021

Adult

When they face the most baffling missing person's case of their careers, a fiercely ambitious lawyer and a homicide detective have no one to turn to for help except each other, from New York Times bestselling author Laura Griffin. Up-and-coming attorney Leigh Larson fights for victims of sexual extortion, harassment, and online abuse. She is not afraid to go after the sleaziest targets to get payback for her clients. Leigh is laser-focused on her career—to the exclusion of everything else—unti...


Cover of Coming Up for Air

Coming Up for Air by Sarah Leipciger

Published 19 March 2020

Adult

THREE EXTRAORDINARY LIVES INTERTWINE ACROSS OCEANS AND TIME'Bold in its weaving of three ingeniously linked storylines and rich in sensuous detail and vivid characterisation. I can't wait for her next.' PATRICK GALE'A stunning, stirring story told with exceptional skill and rare beauty' TERRI WHITE 'Glittering. A triumph.' RACHEL JOYCE **LONGLISTED FOR THE HWA GOLD CROWN 2020**On the banks of the River Seine in 1899, a young woman takes her final breath before plunging into the icy water. Althou...


Cover of A Sister's Gift

A Sister's Gift by Giselle Green

Published 21 January 2010

Adult

Two sisters. Best of friends. Worst of enemies. Hollie Hudson and her husband Richard are fast losing hope... Despite her infertility, Hollie is unable to give up her dream of having her own family and so calls on her last chance - her wayward half-sister. 24-year-old blonde bombshell Scarlett is the antithesis of her darker, more reserved older sister and capable of giving Hollie the miracle she so desperately desires. Having single-handedly...



Cover of Hello Friend We Missed You

HELLO FRIEND WE MISSED YOU is a deeply poignant and bleakly comic debut novel about loneliness, the 'violent revenge thriller' category on Netflix, solipsism, rural gentrification, Jack Black, and learning to exist in the least excruciating way possible. Its story of depression and death on the small Welsh island of Mon, of people armed with every social media completely failing to communicate, is far, far funnier than it has any right to be. It's also, ultimately, extremely moving. An incredibl...