The Grey Bastards (Lot Lands, #1)

by Jonathan French

4.67 of 5 stars 3 ratings • 2 reviews • 14 shelved
Book cover for The Grey Bastards

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

The Grey Bastards (Lot Lands, #1)

by Jonathan French

4.67 of 5 stars 3 ratings • 2 reviews • 14 shelved

'AN ADDICTIVELY READABLE - AND UNDENIABLY COOL - FANTASY MASTERWORK' Kirkus

BRING ON THE ORCS . . .

Jackal is proud to be a Grey Bastard, member of a sworn brotherhood of half-orcs. Unloved and unwanted in civilized society, the Bastards eke out a hard life in the desolate no-man's-land called the Lots, protecting frail and noble human civilization from invading bands of vicious full-blooded orcs.

But as Jackal is soon to learn, his pride may be misplaced. Because a dark secret lies at the heart of the Bastards' existence - one that reveals a horrifying truth behind humanity's tenuous peace with the orcs, and exposes a grave danger on the horizon.

On the heels of the ultimate betrayal, Jackal must scramble to stop a devastating invasion - even as he wonders where his true loyalties lie.

A standout adventure fantasy debut that's down, dirty and damn good fun - perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Markus Heitz's Dwarves series and Stan Nicholl's Orcs series.

'A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice . . . Fans of Abercrombie's The First Law . . . will like this a lot' Django Wexler

'A bloody good tale of battle, betrayal and war pigs' Brian McClellan

'Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list' Fantasy Book Critic

'I'd like to raise a tankard to The Grey Bastards' brilliance' Fantasy Faction

  • ISBN10 0356511642
  • ISBN13 9780356511641
  • Publish Date 21 June 2018 (first published 15 October 2015)
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country GB
  • Imprint Orbit
  • Format Paperback (B-Format (198x129 mm))
  • Pages 464
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for ashley

Ashley 5 of 5 stars

This book is brilliant!

It's vulgar, crass, and full of misogynistic characters.. but damn it's great. Imagine like a motorcycle gang, but full of half-orcs who ride battle hogs (and it's called a “hoof” – not a gang). The author really brings you into that world and makes you care about the characters. There's so much culture, from their vulgar jokes to their awesome hoof slogan: “Live in the saddle. Die on the hog!” It's about unflinching loyalty to the cause and to the hoof.

Freakin awesome book and I can't wait for the rest of the series!

Avatar for biblioholicbeth

Beth C. 5 of 5 stars
Two words: HOLY. SHIT.

The Grey Bastards, a group of part-Orcs who help protect their territory from Orc incursions, who help protect a land they’ve never seen against a repeat of a war most weren’t alive for. They’re outlaws, riding on their hogs (literally) to patrol their lot. They drink hard, they play hard—but they do it together and follow their code. Jackal is one of the Grey Bastards, and he’s proud of that...

Head to www.vampirebookclub.net for the remained of the review!