The Cost of Knowing

by Brittney Morris

0 ratings • 0 reviews • 5 shelved
Book cover for The Cost of Knowing

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

The Cost of Knowing

by Brittney Morris

0 ratings • 0 reviews • 5 shelved

From the acclaimed author of SLAY, comes a gripping novel, about brothers, grief, and what it means to be a young Black man in America. For fans of Dear Martin and They Both Die at the End.

Sixteen year old Alex Rufus lives with his younger brother, Isaiah, in a quiet neighbourhood in Chicago. But recently their neighbours have started calling the cops on anyone who doesn't look like their version of safe.

Alex starts avoiding his neighbourhood by taking on more shifts at the local ice-cream shop, Scoops, and spending time with his girlfriend, Talia. But when Alex picks up an old family photo, everything changes: he has an intense vision that Isaiah might die.

Alex wants to save Isaiah, but he knows the dangers of the future. How will he protect his brother when the street they grew up on doesn't feel like home anymore?

A story that speaks to hard truths about race, prejudice, and the inherent injustice that permeates the world we live in.

  • ISBN10 1444951742
  • ISBN13 9781444951745
  • Publish Date 11 March 2021 (first published 1 March 2021)
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country GB
  • Publisher Hachette Children's Group
  • Imprint Hodder Children's Books
  • Format Paperback (B-Format (198x129 mm))
  • Pages 352
  • Language English