The Accidental Beauty Queen

by Teri Wilson

4 of 5 stars 3 ratings • 1 review • 3 shelved
Book cover for The Accidental Beauty Queen

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

The Accidental Beauty Queen

by Teri Wilson

4 of 5 stars 3 ratings • 1 review • 3 shelved

'Teri Wilson is the Queen of Romantic Comedy!' Sarah Morgan

'The Accidental Beauty Queen effortlessly delivers on all of the charm and emotion you hope for in a romantic comedy. Utterly enchanting' Lauren Layne, New York Times bestselling author

In this charming romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Miss Congeniality, critically acclaimed author Teri Wilson (creator of Hallmark movies Unleashing Mr Darcy and Marrying Mr Darcy) shows us that sometimes being pushed out of your comfort zone leads you to the ultimate prize...

Charlotte Gorman loves her job as a school librarian, and is perfectly content to experience life through the pages of her books. Which couldn't be more opposite from her identical twin sister. Ginny, an Instagram-famous beauty pageant contestant, whose biggest aspiration is to win Miss American Treasure.

However, when Ginny has an allergic reaction that swells her face and could ruin her last chance of winning the crown, Charlotte suddenly finds herself stepping into her sister's towering stilettos.

Woefully unprepared for the glittery world of pageants, Charlotte is mortified by the experience. But as she discovers there's more to her fellow contestants than just wanting a sparkly crown, Charlotte realises she has a whole new motivation for winning.

'The perfect recipe for a feel-good read: Mix one part Mr. Darcy, one part sisterhood, one bulldog named Buttercup and add a hefty sprinkle of glitter. I laughed, cried, and swooned and even felt better in a bikini after reading it!' Lindsay Emory, critically acclaimed author of The Royal Runaway

**Featured in Entertainment Weekly's 'Fiction and movie love stories that make the perfect Valentine's Day Pair': Read The Accidental Beauty Queen by Teri Wilson; Watch Miss Congeniality**

  • ISBN10 1643580949
  • ISBN13 9781643580944
  • Publish Date 1 February 2019 (first published 4 December 2018)
  • Publish Status Active
  • Imprint Center Point
  • Edition Large type / large print edition
  • Format Hardcover (Library Binding)
  • Pages 296
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for kozbisa

My love for Hallmark movies is no secret, and when I saw that Teri Wilson had been involved with several particularly wonderful Hallmark films, I knew I had to read this book. I was expecting something light and fun, but still sweet and thoughtful, and Wilson more than met my expectations.

• Pro: I loved Charlotte. She was a bookish, nerdy librarian. How could I NOT love her?

• Pro: The exploration of sibling relationships is something I always enjoy, and this one was made that much more interesting by involving identical twin sisters and a really BIG secret, that was hampering their relationship.

• Pro: Grey was such a wonderful and swoony hero. Not only was he a billionaire, but he was also a literature lover. I was as dazzled by him as Charlotte was when he spoke Darcy to her.

• Pro: I am telling you, the pageant scenes gave me this awesome Miss Congeniality vibe. They were fun, and I liked that Charlotte started to see this world in a different, more positive way. I loved the sisterhood side of the pageant Wilson exposed, and I always like seeing women supporting women.

• Pro: This was quite a journey for Charlotte. She not only learned a lot about pageants and her sister, but she learned a lot about herself, and I really enjoyed getting to see her evolve over the course of the story.

• Pro: There were all these little things that delighted me in this book. From butter beer to Buttercup, the adorable French Bulldog, I found all these little touches that added to my enjoyment.

Overall: This book was sweet and charming, as well as hilarious and heartwarming. I smiled, I laughed, I shed some tears, and in the end, I was left with a smile on my face and a full heart.

*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

BLOG | INSTAGRAM |TWITTER | BLOGLOVIN | FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS