Girl out of Water

by Laura Silverman

4.5 of 5 stars 8 ratings • 6 reviews • 18 shelved
Book cover for Girl out of Water

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will feel right at home in this heartfelt coming-of-age story about a homesick girl who gives up her summer plans to help her distant family-only to find everything she was looking for, including love.
Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.
Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but living in her mother's childhood home-the same mother who disappeared out of her life when she was born-brings up memories and feelings she would rather forget. And with every photo and text, her friends back home feel further away.
Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who dares her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Anise isn't one to shy away from a challenge. Her days with Lincoln are the most fun she's had all summer and skating together makes her feel more alive and free than she ever has.
Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.
Perfect for readers who like:Teen romance booksTeen realistic fiction booksHeartfelt summer readsTell Me Three Things and Five Feet ApartPraise for Girl out of Water:
A Junior Library Guild Selection!
"Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han."-Booklist
"A novel that reads like a warm summer afternoon."-Paste Magazine
"[A]n entertaining and well-done coming-of-age story."-RT Book Reviews
"[W]orthy of a spot in any teen's beach bag."-School Library Journal
Also by Laura Silverman:
You Asked for Perfect

  • ISBN10 1492646865
  • ISBN13 9781492646860
  • Publish Date 2 June 2017 (first published 2 May 2017)
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country US
  • Imprint Sourcebooks Fire
  • Format Paperback (US Trade)
  • Pages 368
  • Language English