Odd One Out by Nic Stone

Odd One Out

by Nic Stone

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his partner-in-crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.

When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.

AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A BOSTON GLOBE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK OF 2018

"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." -Teen Vogue

"Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness." -The New York Times

Reviewed by [email protected] on

4 of 5 stars

Share
This was a story about love, friendship, questioning, assigning labels, and removing labels. It was about changing and accepting change, and I really enjoyed it.

I had featured this book on Can't Wait Wednesday, and one of the things I talked about expecting was drama, lots of drama. Well, I can confirm there was tons of drama. This was one super charged love triangle, and I will admit, I was really happy with the way it all turned out.

I won't lie, I adored Coop and Jupiter. They had such an amazing friendship, and I loved all the history they shared. I found Rae a little annoying, but I appreciate how she altered the dynamic and pushed Jupiter and Coop to confront some things that had been lingering for quite a while.

I listened to the audiobook, and I have to mention how amazing I thought the actor, who read Coop was. His delivery was so good, and I couldn't decide if I thought Coop was just an amazing character or if the narrator made him even more amazing than he was. I thought Nic Stone did an incredible job reading Jupiter, too. Her delivery was great, and the emotion was spot on.

Stone also shares how personal this book was to her, and I really appreciated her sharing that with us readers. I think there are a lot of teens, who will benefit from her story.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 1 November, 2018: Finished reading
  • 1 November, 2018: Reviewed