Bridge of Souls by Victoria Schwab

Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts, #3)

by Victoria Schwab




#1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria
Schwab invites readers to New Orleans in this instalment of her
thrillingly spooky City of Ghosts series!
Where there are ghosts, Cassidy Blake follows ... unless it's
the other way around?


Cass might have this ghost hunting thing down.
After all, she and her ghost best friend Jacob have survived two
haunted cities while travelling for her parents' TV show.


But nothing can
prepare Cass for New Orleans, a city bursting with old
magic, secret societies, and scary seances.
And the biggest surprise? An enemy she never expected
to face: a messenger of Death itself.


Is Cass up to the challenge - and what will she have to lose to
win?





A spooky, page-turning story combining ghostly hauntings, friendship
and history

Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Laini Taylor

Don't miss City of Ghosts (Book 1)
and Tunnel of Bones (Book 2) by Victoria
Schwab.

Reviewed by Joséphine on

4 of 5 stars

Share
Initial thoughts: This was such a satisfying way to end the series! Bridge of Souls was imaginative, introducing twists that were more sinister than in the first two books without getting too dark though for middle grade readers.

Yet, what surprised me most were the repeated Harry Potter references, which I didn't think added very much for the target audience. I felt like that was nostalgia aimed at older readers, which was unnecessary.

In any case, the Cassidy Blake trilogy, made me think of Schwab's Vicious duology (written for adults) in that the main characters all had experiences with death, giving rise to their special powers and yet, their premises are so far removed from each other. Bridge of Souls understandably was nowhere near as complex as Vicious but I still found myself invested in the lives of Cassidy, Jacob and Lara.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • 7 May, 2021: Started reading
  • 11 May, 2021: Finished reading
  • 11 May, 2021: Reviewed