The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

by Megan Bannen

4.5 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 0 reviews • 6 shelved
Book cover for The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

'Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I've read before. . . an absolutely stunning story' Lana Harper, author of Payback's a Witch

The Princess Bride meets You've Got Mail in this enchantingly quirky, completely refreshing fantasy with a rom-com-worthy premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the magical wilds of Tanria. It's an unforgiving job, and he's got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She's been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart-ache Hart, the man with a knack for showing up right when her patience is thinnest. 

After yet another run-in with Merciless Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to "A Friend". Much to his surprise, he receives an anonymous reply, and a tentative friendship is born. Little does Hart know he's baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most. . . 

Set in a world equally full of magic and demigods as it is donuts and small-town drama, this utterly unique fantasy is sure to sweep you off your feet.

FairyLoot adult pick for July 2022. Comes with an exclusive cover, two coloured stencil sprayed edges, foil embossing on the hardcover by @eklixio, artwork on the endpapers by @eklixio, and is signed by the author.

  • ISBN13 9780356519234
  • Publish Date 25 August 2022 (first published 23 August 2022)
  • Publish Status Out of Print
  • Publish Country GB
  • Imprint Orbit