The Last Charm

by Ella Allbright

5 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 2 reviews • 3 shelved
Book cover for The Last Charm

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

The Last Charm

by Ella Allbright

5 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 2 reviews • 3 shelved

'A gorgeously romantic love story full of heart and poignancy' Alex Brown

'A wonderful, totally absorbing coming of age love story...I couldn't have put it down if I tried' Jules Wake

A moving and heartwarming love story perfect for fans of This Time Next Year, In Five Years and One Day in December.

'Beautifully written, cunningly constructed and emotionally deep. Ella Allbright is an exciting voice in fiction!' Sue Moorcroft, Sunday Times-bestselling author of Let it Snow

Leila's charm bracelet tells a story of love, a story of loss, a story of hope.

This is the story of her... and the story of Jake.

When Leila Jones loses her precious charm bracelet and a stranger finds it, she has to tell the story of how she got the charms to prove she's the owner. Each and every one is a precious memory of her life with Jake.

So Leila starts at the beginning, recounting the charms and experiences that have led her to the present. A present she never could have expected when she met Jake nearly twenty years ago...

Readers are LOVING The Last Charm:

'A wonderful escape into a heartwarming & poignant love story' Holly Martin, bestselling author of Sunrise Over Sapphire Bay

'A charming, tender love story & one-sitting read that was just lovely' Carmel Harrington, bestselling author of My Pear-Shaped Life

'Honest, raw and achingly romantic - a beautifully told story of loss, love and life,' Sandy Barker, author of A Sunset in Sydney

'I loved this beautifully written story of love, loss and hope... The characters will capture your heart and have you rooting for them every step of the way.' Leah Mercer, RNA award-nominated author of The Puzzle of You

'A beautifully told, heartwarming yet heartwrenching epic love story that took me on a rollercoaster of emotions! I'm in love with Jake as much as Leila is, if not a little more!' Kim Nash, author of Amazing Grace

'Bound to charm you...a tale bookmarking the moments that make us all fall in love' Catherine Miller, author of 99 Days With You

  • ISBN13 9780008386566
  • Publish Date 21 August 2020
  • Publish Status Active
  • Publish Country GB
  • Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
  • Imprint HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Edition Digital original
  • Format eBook
  • Pages 416
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for starcrossedreviews

Emma (SCR) 5 of 5 stars
This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Thank you to One More chapter for my copy of this book via Netgalley and to Rachel for letting me take part in this tour.

I liked the cover and the blurb as well as being a fan of Me Before You so I grabbed my copy and volunteered for the tour. I also listened to a little of the audiobook but I mostly read the kindle version. I really liked Sarah Lambie's narration and if I had the time I would have listened to all of it.

I have just finished the last page of this story and I don't quite know where to begin with this review. The story of Jake a Leila is one of love, loss and friendship. It will make you laugh, it will make you mad and it will make you cry. I feel like I really know these characters. Over 15 years we see and learn so much about these two. I felt like I heard a whole life story in this book. I loved the alternating POV. It's something I've always loved in a book.

While this story is all about Jake and Leila there were some excellent side characters. I loved Leila's friends Eloise, Chloe and Michelle. They are such good friends to Leila. I also really liked Jake's friend Owen. I'm so glad they stayed friends.

The pacing and the timeline of this book were done really well. Sometimes we skipped years other times months. It reminded me a little of One Day where we skip through and see the very most important parts.

I really enjoyed his story and while I feel like I've been through the mill it was definitely worth it. It was cathartic in some ways. I look forward to seeing what Ella brings us next.

Avatar for ellesea

Lynn 5 of 5 stars
A poignant story about two young people dealing with what life throws at them as they navigate their way through adolescence and into adulthood. 

The lost charm bracelet holds years of memories. Each charm tells a story. When Leila loses hers, she has to convince the person who found it, Caitlin, that she is the owner. In doing so, it's a trip down memory lane, recalling events of the past ten plus years ago. It's a time to reflect on life, to make peace with what happened, and to look to the future with a lighter outlook on life. 

Before I start, I recommend having tissues handy for this one because I needed to grab one or two. Leila and Jake's story is one of hope and optimism as they handle challenging issues during their young lives as their friendship develops over the years. 

A slow-burn romance, Jake and Leila journey is a bumpy one, fraught with drama… a reflection of their young age and specifically Leila's immaturity. Jake is two years older, and despite his hostile upbringing, manages to turn his life around. However, secrets and withheld information are the unstable foundations of their relationship, yet, somehow after it all collapses, they're finally able to acknowledge their true feelings for one another, somehow stronger than before. 

Ms Allbright has written a beautiful novel with an emotional punch. The narrative is full of surprises and thought-provoking incidences. As a reader prepare to laugh and cry as the story unfolds against the stunning Dorset coast. 

To sum up, The Last Charm is a heartfelt novel which will stay with you long after you've read the final page. 

***arc generously received courtesy of 0ne More Chapter via NetGalley***