This Is Not the Jess Show

by Anna Carey

4.25 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 1 review • 8 shelved
Book cover for This Is Not the Jess Show

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

This Is Not the Jess Show

by Anna Carey

4.25 of 5 stars 2 ratings • 1 review • 8 shelved
“At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down.”—Tahereh Mafi, New York Times best-selling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea

The year is 1998: Titanic just won 6 Oscars, boy bands are dominating MTV’s airwaves, and like any other teenager Jess Flynn is just trying to survive high school. Between a crush on her childhood best friend, overprotective parents, and her sister’s worsening health, the only constant is her hometown of Swickley, which feels smaller by the day. Jess is resigned to her small-town life, until the day she discovers a mysterious device with an apple logo, causing her to question everything and everyone she’s ever known. As more cracks appear in Jess’s world, she faces a choice: can she live the rest of her life knowing it’s a lie or should she risk everything for the truth?
 
A fast-paced, mind-bending YA thriller packed with ‘90s pop culture references and perfect for fans of Black Mirror, This Is Not the Jess Show will keep readers guessing until the very end.
  • ISBN10 1683691970
  • ISBN13 9781683691976
  • Publish Date 2 February 2021 (first published 15 January 2021)
  • Publish Status Forthcoming
  • Publish Country US
  • Imprint Quirk Books
  • Format Hardcover
  • Pages 304
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for katie

katie 5 of 5 stars
Wow.

Wow wow wow wow wow.

I apparently missed that this is a duology, so it was a bit of a surprise when I got to the end and realized it wasn't over.

But like.... such a great story! I love Jess, and the world building is PHENOMENAL and I can't wait to read more!!!

Full review to come as we get closer to the publication date, since I read this super early (like, the second I got it early).

But jsyk, this isn't a "round it up" 5 stars or a "someone will love this book even if it isn't me" 5 stars- it's a "holy cow I can't believe that was such an AMAZING story!!!" 5 stars. And I'm already looking forward to rereading it before I read the sequel. And possibly before then.