Book 1

The Hand of the Sun King

by J.T. Greathouse

Published 5 August 2021

'Hands down the best debut of the year. Scratch that; this is one of the best debuts I've ever read' Novel Notions

'A great coming of age story about a foolish boy who seeks to unravel the secrets of magic and maybe do something good in the process. I absolutely loved it' Nick Martell

My name is Wen Alder. My name is Foolish Cur.

All my life, I have been torn between two legacies: that of my father, whose roots trace back to the right hand of the Emperor. That of my mother's family, who reject the oppressive Empire and embrace the resistance.

I can choose between them - between protecting my family, or protecting my people - or I can search out a better path . . . a magical path, filled with secrets, unbound by empire or resistance, which could shake my world to its very foundation.

But my search for freedom will entangle me in a war between the gods themselves . . .

The first book in the Pact and Pattern series. Fans of Robin Hobb, Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn and R.F. Kuang's The Poppy War will love the magic running through every page.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

'An original fantasy filled with magic and culture, the story of a character torn between two names, two loyalties, and two definitions of good and evil' Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author


Book 2

The Garden of Empire

by J.T. Greathouse

Published 4 August 2022

The bold sequel to The Hand of the Sun King, where one man's magic and choices could change the fate of the world.

WAR MAKES MONSTERS OF EVERYONE.


Foolish Cur, once named Wen Alder, finds that his allies in the rebellion might cross any line if it means freedom from the Empire. But he can't overcome a foe as strong as Emperor Tenet alone.

REBELLION HAS UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES.

Koro Ha, Foolish Cur's former tutor, discovers the Empire is not so forgiving of those who raise a traitor. And their suspicion may cost him and his people more than he can imagine.

THE GODS ARE LURKING IN THE SHADOWS.

As war against the Empire rages, Foolish Cur knows there is a greater threat. The emperor plans his own coup against the gods, and they will wreak destruction if he tries. To stop him, Foolish Cur might have to risk everything - and resort to ancient magics that could tear the world apart.

The sequel to the spectacular The Hand of the Sun King, filled to the brim with magic and the cruel consequences of war. This is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Shelley Parker-Chan.

Readers love The Garden of Empire:

'A thrilling sequel to The Hand of the Sun King. The magic system is still one of the most unique I've read and I really enjoyed reading about all of the magic/abilities it produces' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'The Garden of Empire is beautifully written, the prose engaging and vivid without losing itself in dramatics' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'The story is developed with a wonderful complexity, and as always the prose is luscious. J.T. Greathouse is one of the most effective prose artists that I've read in SFF in a long time' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Where The Hand Of The Sun King was one of my favorite fantasy debuts in years. The Garden Of Empire is one of the best fantasy books I've read' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'A gripping, riveting, highly entertaining, well plotted, and well told story. A page turner that kept me hooked. A story which is epic and intimate ad the same time. Loved it, loved it, loved it' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'I absolutely loved this book! It's even better than the first one in my opinion. The character growth is fantastic. I loved following them as they learned new magic' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐