Book 1

The Kingdom of Liars

by Nick Martell

Published 5 May 2020
Michael was branded a traitor and his family exiled from courtly life after his father, David Kingman, murdered the king's nine-year-old son.

Now he survives by conning, cheating and duelling minor royals in a weak attempt to strike back at the world that abandoned him and his family, sure all the while that his father must be innocent . . . and aware that some powerful secret lurks in the hot white emptiness of his mind.

So when the opportunity arrives to return to court, via the most dangerous of the King's royal council, Michael takes it, hoping for clues to unlock his hidden past. Instead, he's going to find a royal family spiralling into a self-serving dictatorship, as beyond the walls gun-wielding rebels clash against magically trained militia.

But if he can find his way to the truth, he could completely reverse the injustices which rule the Hollows . . . if Michael and his family can survive long enough to see it . . .

Book 2

The Two-Faced Queen

by Nick Martell

Published 23 March 2021

The Hollows is gripped in unrest and on the brink of civil war as an insurgency of anarchists rise, and brother and sister vie for the throne in the second novel in the critically hailed Legacy of the Mercenary King series which Brandon Sanderson called “excellent.”

Michael Kingman thought he was going to die by the executioner’s axe, forever labeled as a traitor. Still alive, and under the protection of the Orbis Mercenary company, Michael and his family and friends are deeply involved in the seemingly rival conspiracies that are tearing The Hollows apart. With the death of the King, both the Corrupt Prince and his sister Serena are vying for the throne, while the Rebel Emperor is spreading lies amongst the people, and all of them want Michael dead. This is a story of betrayal, murder, and rebellion, and in this direct sequel to the debut novel The Kingdom of Liars, also some hope for justice.

For readers who love the intrigue and widening scope of epic fantasy like Sanderson’s Mistborn and Week’s The Black Prism, you will find your next must-read fantasy series.

Book 3

The Voyage of the Forgotten

by Nick Martell

Published 1 November 2022

In this twistingly beautiful and epically thrilling conclusion to the fantasy trilogy The Legacy of the Mercenary King, Michael, the infamous Kingkiller, and Sabrina, the heir to the throne of Hollow, race against the odds to have the future they’ve worked so hard to protect…or risk bringing about the end of the world.

One year Michael Kingman was given since he was nearly executed on the steps of the Church of the Wanderer for the murder of King Isaac. Thankfully, in that time, he’s found his destiny. His purpose. Yet it conflicts with what he wants, namely a life with Serena, the Queen of Hollow. Even so, he continues. A man who is trying to be less selfish and reckless. A boy who never learned to be good, finally trying to. As Michael reaches the edge of the continent for a royal wedding, he learns that his time his up. He is going to die in 48 days and Angelo Shade, his former foster, is going to break the world in order to bring back his wife from the dead.

A fool until the defiant end, Michael rebels, vowing to finally end the Endless Waltz he has been a pawn in since his birth. To stop Angelo, Michael is forced to travel to the edge of the world and kill the myths he grew up on—dragons, titans, ancient immortal kings, and even his own ancestors—all for a chance at victory. But, as he quickly learns, what if the end of the world is not the worst fate he can imagine? What if it’s being alone and forgotten?

In this epic conclusion, The Voyage of the Forgotten brilliantly wraps up the stories fans have fallen in love with as the characters struggle against odds that seem impossible to overcome.