Cover of American Heart

American Heart by Laura Moriarty

Published 30 January 2018

Young Adult


Cover of Shadow Call

Shadow Call by Adrianne Strickland

Published 17 April 2018

Young Adult

The rip-roaring space adventure sequel to the book that NYT bestselling author Lindsey Cummings heralded as "an explosive debut" has arrived! Full of action and romance, as if Star Wars was done in the vein of Joss Whedon's Firefly. His throne. Her rebellion. Their war. Qole is the youngest starship captain in living memory on her homeworld of Alaxak and has spent her life hunting a dangerous energy source called Shadow. Alaxans distrust and evade the galaxy's royalty as a rule, but Qole is no...


Cover of Caught in the Crossfire

Caught in the Crossfire by Alan Gibbons

Published 2 January 2003

Children

Set in a Northern town, where right-wingers are determined to stir up hatred and racial prejudice, CAUGHT IN THE CROSSFIRE is about six teenagers whose lives are woven together by a series of shocking and tragic events. A British Muslim brother and sister, two Irish brothers who take different sides, and two lads out looking for trouble: all of them get caught in the crossfire. Inspired by the Oldham riots and the events of September 11th, this is a book that needed to be written. It is a...


Cover of Scythe

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe, #1) by Neal Shusterman

Published 22 November 2016

Young Adult

Two teens must learn the "art of killing" in this Printz Honor-winning book, the first in a chilling new series from Neal Shusterman, author of the New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology. A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery: humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now Scythes are the only ones who can end life-and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control. Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentic...


Cover of Angel Land

Angel Land (Angel Land, #1) by P S Scott

Published 30 March 2019

Young Adult


Cover of All Fall Down

All Fall Down (Embassy Row, #1) by Ally Carter

Published 1 January 2015

Young Adult

Praise for Ally Carter:Ally Carter is an author that you simply can't miss. - Gripped into BooksGallagher Girls books have real heart, pushing strength and sisterhood over sass, with super wit and humour too... brilliant. ***** Books for KeepsAbsolutely unputdownable and completely gripping... everything that fans of this series will have been waiting for... 10/10... an incredible series in which each book gets better and better. The GuardianAlly Carter has done it again! From the story to...


Cover of Perfect

Perfect (Flawed, #2) by Cecelia Ahern

Published 27 March 2017

Young Adult

The thrilling, shocking and romantic sequel to the bestselling YA debut FLAWED is finally here. When we embrace all our flaws, that's when we can finally become PERFECT... Celestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine's life has completely fractured - all her freedoms gone. Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with the complicated, pow...


Cover of Option Four

Option Four by Jon Eliot Keane

Published 25 May 2017

Young Adult


Cover of Yes No Maybe So

Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed

Published 1 November 2019

Young Adult

PRAISE FOR AISHA SAEEDAmal Unbound A New York Times Bestseller "Saeed's eloquent, suspenseful, eye-opening tale offers a window into the contemporary practice of indentured servitude and makes a compelling case for the power of girls' education to transform systemic injustice."-Publishers Weekly, starred review "Amal narrates, her passion for learning, love for her family, and despair at her circumstance evoked with sympathy and clarity, as is the setting. Inspired by Malala Yousafzai and cou...


Cover of Your Own Worst Enemy

Your Own Worst Enemy by Gordon Jack

Published 22 October 2018

Young Adult

For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and the movies Election and Ferris Bueller's Day Off comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most. Stacey Wynn was the clear front-runner for Lincoln High student council president. But then French-Canadian transfer student Julia Romero entered the race...and put the moves on Stacey's best friend/campaign adviser, Brian. Stacey also didn'...


Cover of Harrowing of Hell

Harrowing of Hell by Evan Dahm

Published 19 December 2019

Young Adult

"Deeply personal and full of profound ambiguity." - A.V. CLUB "Grapples with the revolutionary humility of Christ's message." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY "Jesus of Nazareth . . . art thou come to destroy us?" Over the thousands of years since Christ's Crucifixion, the original gospels detailing his life and death have been edited, sanded down, and molded into the tale millions of people know by heart today. But what if that first fevered, dreamlike writing about this moment of profound historical uph...


Cover of The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Published 13 April 2015

Young Adult

After her mother dies, sixteen-year-old Kate Quinn meets the father she did not know she had, joins his presidential campaign, falls for a rebellious boy, and when what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign's talking points, Kate must decide what is best.



Cover of Vote for Larry

Vote for Larry (Larry, #2) by Janet Tashjian

Published 1 May 2004

Young Adult

Not yet eighteen years old, Josh, a.k.a. Larry, comes out of hiding and returns to public life, this time to run for President as an advocate for issues of concern to youth and to encourage voter turnout.


Cover of While I Live

While I Live (Ellie Chronicles, #1) by John Marsden

Published 1 November 2004

Young Adult


Cover of An Ember in the Ashes

'Keeps one reading long after the lights should have been out' ROBIN HOBB Read the explosive New York Times bestselling debut that's captivated readers worldwide. Set to be a major motion picture, An Ember in the Ashes is the book everyone is talking about. Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. When Laia's grandparents are brutally murdered and her brother arrested for treason by the empire, the only people she has left to turn to are the rebels....


Cover of Finding What's Real

Finding What's Real by Emma Harrison

Published 28 March 2017

Young Adult

Cecelia Montgomery returns after running away to deal with the downside of her newfound fame-and her mother's Presidential campaign-in the sequel to Escaping Perfect. Two weeks after going on the run-and running away from a life that was carefully constructed for the past ten years-Cecelia Montgomery finds herself back in the middle of a media firestorm. Before she can blink, Cecilia is forced once again into a public persona she had no part in creating. But her friends from Sweet Briar still...


Cover of With a Star in My Hand

With a Star in My Hand by Margarita Engle

Published 18 February 2020

Young Adult

"Exceptional." -Booklist (starred review) "Heartfelt...Thoughtful and effective." -The Horn Book "Engle's lyrical poetry emotionally conveys the reality of being a greatly gifted, passionate, and deeply ambitious young man in a turbulent time." -BCCB From acclaimed author Margarita Engle comes a gorgeous novel in verse about Ruben Dario, the Nicaraguan poet and folk hero who initiated the literary movement of Modernismo. As a little boy, Ruben Dario loved to listen to his great uncle, a man...


Cover of Don't Blame the Reckless

Don't Blame the Reckless by Maddyson Wilson

Published 12 July 2019

Young Adult


Cover of Safekeeping

Safekeeping by Karen Hesse

Published 18 September 2012

Young Adult

When Radley returns to the United States after volunteering abroad, she comes back to a country under military rule with strict travel restrictions, and she must find her way back to her Vermont home through the New England woods. When the American People's Party takes over the American government, Radley returns from a volunteer trip in Haiti to find her parents missing and nowhere to turn. The plot contains violence.