Magic Triumphs by Ilona Andrews

Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels, #10)

by Ilona Andrews

Mercenary Kate Daniels must risk all to protect everything she holds dear in this epic, can't-miss entry in the thrilling #1 New York Times bestselling urban-fantasy series.

Kate has come a long way from her origins as a loner taking care of paranormal problems in post-Shift Atlanta. She's made friends and enemies. She's found love and started a family with Curran Lennart, the former Beast Lord. But her magic is too strong for the power players of the world to let her be.

Kate and her father, Roland, currently have an uneasy truce, but when he starts testing her defenses again, she knows that sooner or later a confrontation is inevitable. The Witch Oracle has begun seeing visions of blood, fire, and human bones. And when a mysterious box is delivered to Kate's doorstep, a threat of war from the ancient enemy who nearly destroyed her family, she knows her time is up.

Kate Daniels sees no other choice but to combine forces with the unlikeliest of allies. She knows betrayal is inevitable. She knows she may not survive the coming battle. But she has to try.

For her child.

For Atlanta.

For the world.

Reviewed by Melanie on

5 of 5 stars

My review and an extended sample of the audiobook are posted at

I can’t believe it is over. I think I started reading this series in 2010. I started off reading it in paperback from my library. Then in 2013, I found the audiobooks and I’ve been audio only for this series ever since. I’ve done multiple relistens of this series (the most recent starting this year, where I listened to the entire series building up to this final release). I wanted to spend as much time with these characters I could, before it was all over.

So, Kate’s father isn’t the only issue she’s facing, but she knows it is looming on the horizon. But first things first, Kate must protect her loved ones from the immediate danger. Kate isn’t the best political type of person, but she knows that she will need the help of everyone she knows to defeat this battle. She even calls a truce with her father to have him help her, because without him, she has no chance of winning.

This was a great wrap-up to the series. While, I’m sad to see it end, I think Ilona Andrews writing team did a great job (as if there was ever any doubt) with ending this series in a way that will keep their fans happy. Kate and Curran finally get their happy-ever-after. I liked that we got to spend time with most of the characters that I’ve grown to love across the 10 novels (plus novellas, Curran POVs, Andrea’s book, Derek’s book and Hugh’s book, not to mention all the short stories that they’ve provided to their fans over the years).

Speaking of Hugh’s book, you will want to have read the first book, Iron & Magic, before reading this one. There are things that take place in Hugh’s book that affect this story and will spoil Iron & Magic for you.

While it is sad to see the end of Kate Daniels series, I don’t think we’ve seen the last of this world. I know we have at least one more Hugh book in The Iron Covenant series (and I’m pretty sure more than one). I hope that we will get more of Derek in the Grey Wolf series. They also left room for a few other characters to have spinoffs (I think they will pick one of the two characters I’m thinking of and go from there). Oh, and they’ve mentioned a Roman series. No matter where Ilona and Gordon go with their writing after the end of Kate’s series, I know I want be along for the ride.

Renee Raudman continues to nail this series. I don’t think there is anything I can say that I haven’t said before for her narration. She does a great job with all of the voices. OMG, Conlan was just too cute for words. I just loved her voice for him. It was perfect. If you haven’t tried this series (or Renee Raudman with any other series), you’re really missing out.

**I like to thank the publisher for providing me with a copy of this audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 14 August, 2018: Finished reading
  • 14 August, 2018: Reviewed