Harry Potter Box Set: The Complete Collection by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter Box Set: The Complete Collection (Harry Potter, Books 1-7)

by J.K. Rowling

A beautiful boxed set containing all seven Harry Potter novels in paperback. These new editions of the classic and internationally bestselling, multi-award-winning series feature instantly pick-up-able new jackets by Jonny Duddle, with huge child appeal, to bring Harry Potter to the next generation of readers. It's time to PASS THE MAGIC ON ...

Reviewed by zarahoffman on

5 of 5 stars

Harry Potter is a wizard– and not just any wizard– he's the "Boy Who Lived" and defeated the dark wizard, Lord Voldemort. On his 11th Birthday, Harry receives a letter announcing his enrollment at Hogwarts, School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. But when his non-magical “Muggle” family forbids him to go, they are visited by a friendly giant named Hagrid to takes him to the Hogwarts Express at Platform 9¾ at Kings Cross Station where his magical journey begins. It's there where he meets the friendly redhead Ron Weasley and the precocious Hermione Granger. The trio quickly become best friends. 
At Hogwarts, the kids are inducted into four Houses called Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, and Hufflepuff which are known for bravery, cunning, intelligence, and friendliness respectively. They have fantastical classes such as Transfiguration, Care of Magical Creatures, and Potions. Harry Potter is famous at school, but not everyone likes him, namely Slytherin boy Draco Malfoy and the Slytherin teacher Severus Snape (who makes Harry’s life miserable in his Potions class). Despite their antagonism, Harry is generally liked, particularly by the wise and kooky Headmaster of Hogwarts, Albus Dumbledore.
Throughout the series, Harry, Ron, and Hermione go on fantastic and terrifying adventures to help save their friends and the wizarding world as they try and stop the powerful Lord Voldemort, who killed Harry’s parents and attempted to kill him. On the way, they are assisted by their other friends, Headmaster Dumbledore, Professor McGonagall, and Hagrid, among many others.

The flowing writing and ridiculously minute details made this a quick and enjoyable read. I read each book in 3½ hours, but then again I'm a freak of nature– but you won't be able to put this book down.
In the movies, Harry is portrayed by Daniel Radcliffe; Hermione by Emma Watson; and Ron by Rupert Grint. These three started at age 11 and grew up with the stories in Leaf Studios in London for 10 years as children all over the world read JK Rowling's masterpiece series. Thousands of people went to movie premiers and book releases of this huge franchise. While some dislike the movies because they cut things out, I personally love them.

Other Notes
I am so indescribably sad that the series is done. But, as I often do for favorites of mine, I reread the books periodically and rewatch the movies and watch interviews of the brilliant JK Rowling online to continually relive the series’ magic that defined a generation.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 21 July, 2007: Finished reading
  • 21 July, 2007: Reviewed