Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

Warbreaker (Cosmere Universe)

by Brandon Sanderson

WARBREAKER is the story of two sisters - who happen to be princesses, the God King one of them has to marry, a lesser god, and an immortal trying to undo the mistakes he made hundreds of years ago.

Theirs is a world in which those who die in glory return as gods to live confined to a pantheon in Hallandren's capital city. A world transformed by BioChromatic magic, a power based on an essence known as breath. Using magic is arduous: breath can only be collected one unit at a time from individual people.

But the rewards are great: by using breath and drawing upon the color in everyday objects, all manner of miracles and mischief can be performed.

Brandon Sanderson proves again that he is a master of what Tolkien called 'secondary creation,' the invention of whole worlds, complete with magics and myths all their own.

Reviewed by Renee on

5 of 5 stars

I guess I can add a new book to my favorites list. This was my first adult work of Brandon Sanderson and I loved it. Talk about complex characters that go through some great character development. Normally I do not notice world building that much, but wow. Brandon Sanderson did a wonderful job.

I had quite some expectations when I started Warbreaker. Every booktuber I follow hypes up Brandon Sanderson’s books and there is a younger princess named Siri in this book, which reminded me a lot of a doll I had when I was a kid. She was a younger princess, always wanted to be the child of the family and don’t have any responsibilities, and she is very naive. Reading a book with such similarities could have been an enormous let down for me, but I was pleasantly surprised. I could see my old doll in this Siri and it made me connect with her immediately.

There were plot twists in this book that I had never expected, the story became so much more complex than I initially thought, and I loved every single character.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 28 August, 2019: Finished reading
  • 28 August, 2019: Reviewed