Wicked Cowboy Wolf by Kait Ballenger

Wicked Cowboy Wolf (Seven Range Shifters, #3)

by Kait Ballenger

Cowboys by day, wolf shifters by night: These bad boys are ready to heat things up in a sexy paranormal wolf shifter romance from author Kait Ballenger.

To his enemies, he's known as the Rogue. To her, he's her only chance at survival...
Years ago, Grey Wolf Jared Black was cast from the pack for a crime he didn't commit. If they wanted him to be an outlaw cowboy, fine. Now, he's the mysterious criminal wolf known only as the Rogue, a name his former packmates won't soon forget. But when a vampire threat endangers the lives of their entire species, Jared must confront his former packmates again, even if that means betraying the only woman he's ever loved...

Ever since Maeve Gray escaped the pack's bloodsucking enemies, she's been determined to save her species—and fast. But when a wicked cowboy wolf shows up on the Grey Wolf ranch, offering everything Maeve's heart desires, her eyes are opened to a whole new world beyond the packlands. For this cowgirl, sleeping with the enemy could prove as desirable as it is deadly...

Reviewed by FranJessca @ A Book Lovin' Mama's Blog on

4 of 5 stars


Wicked Cowboy Wolf is the third book in Kait Ballenger’s Seven Range Shifters series. If you read the previous book in the series, then you would’ve been introduced to Maeve Grey and The Rogue. The Rogue saved Maeve from the Vampires, and now he’s back to protect her from the Vampires again. Maeve has to decide to save her pack by going with the Rogue. Otherwise, her pack will be in danger of her being there. What she doesn’t know is the Rogue has his plans when taking her from her pack. Years ago, the Rogue was apart of the Grey Wolf pack, until he was driven from the pack after he took the fall of a murder of one of the Grey Wolf pack members. He has revenge on his mind for the Grey Wolf Pack, and unfortunately, Maeve is caught in the middle of that revenge.

Maeve though, finds it difficult not to have feelings for the Rogue when he whisks her away to his ranch. Unfortunately, he’s her pack’s enemy and should be hers also. This wicked cowboy has a secret that he’s keeping from her, and it may hurt her at the end when the truth comes out. I was not too fond of the fact that the Rogue, aka Jared Black, was keeping the secret. He should’ve told her right away, but instead, he was stubborn throughout the book. Stubborn Wicked Cowboy Wolf!

I loved that Rogue and Mae got their book, after what happened in the second book. I needed to know more about the Rogue and why he was the mysterious criminal wolf. He had another side of himself that was soft, and readers will find out more about him in this book. He’s not the big criminal that everyone assumes. He reminds me of Robin Hood when it comes to the rogue wolves that he hangs out within this book. Let’s not forget the tension and passion between Mae and Rogue too. These two had a story behind that tension.

Forewarning, though, that this book does have dark triggers in it that involves rape, assault, and murder. I was uncomfortable with certain parts of the book but was able to power through it. I felt for the characters when the truth came out in the end and loved how Kait ended the book with a HEA. They deserved that HEA after everything they went through in the past and present. Now I anxiously wait for the next book in the series to find out who will be the next couple. I love this paranormal world because it involves shifters that wear cowboy hats and work on ranches. Kait Ballenger makes me want to visit Montana and Idaho after reading about this series. If you are a fan of paranormal romance that involves action-packed adventures and sexy cowboy/rancher wolf shifters, then this book is for you. 

Story Rating: 4 stars
Steaminess Rating: 3 stars
Standalone or part of series: Part of series, but each book follows a new couple.
Do I recommend this book? Yes.
Will I read other books from the author? Yes.
Tropes/Elements: Enemies-to-Lovers; Friends-to-Lovers; Triggers: Rape/Assault/Murder

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • 11 January, 2020: Started reading
  • 13 January, 2020: Finished reading
  • 9 April, 2021: Reviewed