A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove

by Fredrik Backman

Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine; Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove is one of the best-loved and most life-affirming novels of the decade.

This multi-million-copy phenomenon is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible . . .

Reviewed by [email protected] on

5 of 5 stars

Share

There is just something really special about a Backman book. His characters always manage to win my heart, and this old bugger owned me. Hard on the outside, but so tender on the inside. The bits where I got to learn about his life with her wife were both beautiful and kind of tragic, and I felt the depth of his love and affection for her. But it was the way he connected and in some cases, reconnected with his neighbors. A loving family was born and it simply made my heart explode. Another stunning, touching, and beautiful book from Fredrik Backman.
 

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • 18 September, 2020: Started reading
  • 19 September, 2020: Finished reading
  • 20 September, 2020: Reviewed