There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

There Will Come a Darkness (Age of Darkness, #1)

by Katy Rose Pool

'A masterful fantasy debut' Sebastien de Castell


For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity - until they disappeared, one hundred years ago.

They left behind a secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world's salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. As a dark new power rises, five souls are set on a collision course that will determine the fate of their world:

A prince exiled from his kingdom
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up

One of them - or all of them - could break the world. Will they be saviour or destroyer?

'Unforgettable . . . feels both utterly original and like the best of classic fantasy' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

'A well-crafted, surprising and gripping start to a new trilogy' Kirkus

'Katy Rose Pool combines lovable characters, a gorgeously tangible world and an intricate puzzle-box plot to create a story that will pull you inexorably toward the explosive end' Sarah Holland, New York Times bestselling author of Everless

Reviewed by limabean74 on

3 of 5 stars

I love the characters but the story is painfully slow. I have stopped reading at a good point and will return when the next book in the series comes out. I feel like this is the back story book and it seems to have more pages then it needs.

I wanted to love this so much and as much as I do love all the characters especially Anton. I can't get past how slow moving it is, 60% in and still no villain. I will return to this but for now my rating is a 3.5 and will stay until I finish reading.

As always I totally recommend if you like a slow build this is a great book for you, Slow builds just take me a lot longer to read.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 27 January, 2020: Finished reading
  • 27 January, 2020: Reviewed