Promised by Caragh M O'Brien

Promised (Birthmarked Trilogy (Hardcover), #3) (Birthmarked Trilogy, #3)

by Caragh M O'Brien

Gaia succeeds in leading her people to Wharfton and the Enclave, but rebellion there threatens them all just when everything they have dreamed of seems to be at hand.

Reviewed by Kelly on

4 of 5 stars

The Birthmarked series is one of the more entertaining dystopian series, where the heroine isn't perfect, super tough, highly intelligent, or can rely on supernatural intervention. Gaia Stone is an average girl who is simply a victim of circumstance. She's scarred down one side of her face from a small child, which ensured the enclave didn't take her from her family, so she was allowed to grow up in a loving and stable environment, until her parents were taken.

Like any ending, Promised is not without it's tragedies. The finale felt a little anticlimactic, but ended on a beautiful note.

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 6 January, 2014: Finished reading
  • 6 January, 2014: Reviewed