Broken Things by Lauren Oliver

Broken Things

by Lauren Oliver

It's been five years since Mia and Brynn murdered Summer Marks, their best friend, in the woods

Increasingly obsessed with a novel called The Way into Lovelorn and by their fan-fiction imagining of its sequel, the girls were drawn by an undertow of fantasy into the magical world they'd created. But eventually, their delusions turned sick, and the Shadow, Lovelorn's central evil, began to haunt them.

Or so the story goes. The only thing is: they didn't do it

Brynn and Mia have both found different ways to hide from their notoriety, seeking refuge from a world that hates them-a world that will never feel magical, or safe, ever again.

On the anniversary of Summer's death, a seemingly insignificant discovery resurrects the mystery and pulls Mia and Brynn back together once again. But as past and present, fiction and reality, begin again to intertwine, Brynn and Mia must confront painful truths they tried for so long to bury-and face the long shadow of memory that has, all this time, been waiting.

In this engrossing, twisty novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver weaves an unforgettable, mesmerizing tale of exquisite obsession, spoiled innocence, and impossible friendships.



'A tense psychological thriller with a devastating denouement' Daily Mail on Vanishing Girls

'Hugely moving and gorgeously written . . . an extremely clever and well-written novel that is ultimately uplifting' Heat on Before I Fall

'Creepier and sweeter than GONE GIRL' MTV on Vanishing Girls

'This brilliant thriller has a killer twist' Fabulous on Vanishing Girls

'Lauren Oliver is the rising star of young adult fiction' The Sunday Times on Delirium

Reviewed by Suz @ Bookish Revelations on

5 of 5 stars

Wow, just wow!

Last modified on

Reading updates

  • Started reading
  • 16 August, 2018: Finished reading
  • 16 August, 2018: Reviewed