Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend

by Mirka Andolfo

Mirka Andolfo (Artist)

5 of 5 stars 1 rating • 1 review • 2 shelved
Book cover for Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend

Bookhype may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.

Mirka Andolfo's Mercy: The Fair Lady, The Frost, and The Fiend

by Mirka Andolfo

Mirka Andolfo (Artist)

5 of 5 stars 1 rating • 1 review • 2 shelved
MERCY, a goth-inspired, Victorian monster
series explores topics of "otherness," damnation and redemption, and
what it means to be a monster in a horror graphic novel perfect for fans of
Penny Dreadful, Crimson Peak, The Alienist, Parasol Protectorate, and Dark
Shadows.

This new graphic novel by acclaimed
creator MIRKA ANDOLFO (UNNATURAL) is a gothic horror tale where mysteries
and unspeakable sins are blended together in a unique and sensual way.


Washington State, late nineteenth century.
During the frenzied historical era commonly known as the Klondike Gold Rush, a
mysterious woman arrives in Woodsburgh, a small mining town close to the
Canadian border.

It's been a few years since
the Swanson mine was closed following the terrible accident that claimed the
lives of so many men and women, including the owner's and the city it's still
struggling in search for a new place on the map of the country.


Elegant and extraordinarily wealthy, Lady
Hellaine arrives in the city accompanied by her faithful butler Goodwill and
settles in one of the most luxurious mansions in town. A lifestyle that
contrasts sharply with that of the majority of the population, forced to choose
between humble crafts and illegal
activities.

No one is aware of the reasons
that led such a classy lady to move from Seattle to the small village, but her
arrival certainly did not go unnoticed. Especially in the eyes of Lady Swanson,
widow of the late mine owner and leading figure of the local bourgeoisie. Lady
Hellaine's plans will bring her on a collision course with the powerful Lady
Swanson, who, for reasons not entirely rational, distrusts the
newcomer.

Meanwhile, the streets and
surroundings of Woodsburgh are flooded in blood: a heinous creature is killing
incautious citizens, wreaking havoc on their bodies. Enough to induce local
authorities to impose a strict curfew after
sunset.

And with the falling of the first
snow, the "Woodsburgh Devil"'s fury seems to have even increased.
What's the connection, if any, between this disturbing presence and the
ivory-skinned stranger?

Who is Lady Hellaine,
really? And what's her secret agenda?


Collects MIRKA ANDOLFO'S MERCY
#1-6

  • ISBN10 1534316582
  • ISBN13 9781534316584
  • Publish Date 8 December 2020
  • Publish Status Forthcoming
  • Publish Country US
  • Imprint Image Comics
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 192
  • Language English

Reviews

Avatar for quirkycat

Quirky Cat 5 of 5 stars

I received a copy of Mirka Andolfo's Mercy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Fans of Mirka Andolfo (Unnatural, Un/Sacred) will be thrilled to hear about her latest project, Mercy. It's a terrifying and thrilling new horror series, full of vibrant (and memorable) artwork.

One small town has been afraid of the Woodsburgh Devil for years. Yet only a small number of people truly understand the origins of the creatures – and why they plague the town so. Enter Lady Hellaine, a newcomer to the town, but one who has made effort to obfuscate her intent.

Before I dive into my review, I would like to say that Mercy is every bit as haunting as it is beautiful. That means that this series isn't exactly for the faint of heart, as some very serious and intense subjects will be broached (and portrayed) over the course of this graphic novel.

I originally read Mercy as individual issues, and even now, after having read the full graphic novel, I still can't get over this series. It was brilliant, beautiful, and so freaking terrifying. I loved every minute of it.

There's no doubt that Mercy has some of the best artwork I've seen in quite some time – it's simply striking. Though it does increase the impact of certain horror elements, which Mirka Andolfo uses to great effect.

On that note, can I just say that I am extremely impressed with Mirka Andolfo? She wrote the whole series, as well as providing most of the artwork (lettering being one of the only exceptions). Holy cow, that's some talent right there!

The tone and style of this series really are perfect. It blends Victorian style with horror to great effect, resulting in something that feels so very...other. If that doesn't sound terrifying, think again. For there's no doubt that the creatures in this tale have earned their reputation.

Shockingly, it's the human element that added the most shock and fear, at least as far as I'm concerned. It provided a reason to care, but it's more than that as well. Really, it all comes down to Andolfo's writing, and it was enchanting.

It's also heartbreaking, and mostly I mean that in a good way. This is not a series to dive into if you want a feel-good story. But it is the perfect series if you want to experience something totally different.

Check out more of my reviews over at Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks