Book 1

The Book of Gothel

by Mary McMyne

Published 28 July 2022

The Book of Gothel is a lush, historical retelling of the tale of Rapunzel from the witch's perspective. This fractured fairytale is filled with witchcraft and magic, otherworldly secrets and forgotten tales, crumbling towers, dark woods and evil princes. It's an enchanting debut, perfect for fans of Circe and The Bear and the Nightingale.

Haelewise has always lived under the shadow of her mother, Hedda - a woman who will do anything to keep her daughter protected. For with her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

But when her mother dies, Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the tower of legend-a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It's also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that just might explain why Haelewise keeps hearing her mother's voice.