Cover of With a Star in My Hand

With a Star in My Hand by Margarita Engle

Published 18 February 2020

Young Adult

"Exceptional." -Booklist (starred review) "Heartfelt...Thoughtful and effective." -The Horn Book "Engle's lyrical poetry emotionally conveys the reality of being a greatly gifted, passionate, and deeply ambitious young man in a turbulent time." -BCCB From acclaimed author Margarita Engle comes a gorgeous novel in verse about Ruben Dario, the Nicaraguan poet and folk hero who initiated the literary movement of Modernismo. As a little boy, Ruben Dario loved to listen to his great uncle, a man...


Cover of Go and Come Back

Go and Come Back by Joan Abelove

Published 15 March 1998

Young Adult

When the two old white ladies come to live in the Peruvian jungle village of Poincushmana, everyone makes a fuss--everyone but Alicia, who is baffled by the reaction of her tribe, the Isabo. But as the days pass, she too is drawn in--because the ladies (who are really in their twenties, and anthropologists) are stingy, stupid, and fun to watch. They don't understand the Isabo. Someone needs to set them straight. And that someone, surprisingly, is Alicia.


Cover of Your Corner Dark

Your Corner Dark by Desmond Hall

Published 19 January 2021

Young Adult

American Street meets Long Way Down in this searing and gritty debut novel that takes an unflinching look at the harsh realities of gang life in Jamaica and how far a teen is willing to go for family. Things can change in a second: The second Frankie Green gets that scholarship letter, he has his ticket out of Jamaica. The second his longtime crush, Leah, asks him on a date, he's in trouble. The second his father gets shot, suddenly nothing else matters. And the second Frankie joins his...


Cover of Home Home

Home Home by Lisa Allen-Agostini

Published 31 May 2018

Young Adult

A coming-of-age tale with a twist: a clinically depressed Trinidadian teenager, who has attempted suicide, is banished by her mother to Canada to live with her aunt. She feels lonely and in exile. But with the help of her lesbian aunt, a gorgeous-looking boy and her Skyping best friend "back home" in Trinidad, she begins to realise that loving families can exist in different shapes and sizes. Then her mother arrives and threatens to take her back to Trinidad. Where then is home?



Cover of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine

Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite

Published 3 September 2019

Young Adult

Includes Author's Note


Cover of Blazewrath Games

Blazewrath Games (Blazewrath Games, #1) by Amparo Ortiz

Published 3 November 2020

Young Adult

Lana Torres has always preferred dragons to people. In a few weeks, sixteen countries will compete in the Blazewrath World Cup, a tournament where dragons and their riders fight for glory in a dangerous relay. Lana longs to represent her native Puerto Rico in their first ever World Cup appearance, and when Puerto Rico's Runner - the only player without a dragon steed - is kicked off the team, she's given the chance. But when she discovers that a former Blazewrath superstar has teamed up with th...


Cover of Runkus Black

Runkus Black by Gregory L Prince

Published 16 October 2019

Children


Cover of Colibri

Kidnapped when she was very young by an unscrupulous man who has forced her to lie and beg to get money, a twelve-year-old Mayan girl endures an abusive life, always wishing she could return to the parents she can hardly remember.


Cover of The Lost Dreamer

The Lost Dreamer by Lizz Huerta

Published 1 March 2022

Young Adult

A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed―perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. But when the beloved king dies, his son has no respect for this time-honored tradition. King Alcan wants an opportunity to bring...


Cover of Hold Tight, Don't Let Go

Hold Tight, Don't Let Go by Laura Rose Wagner

Published 6 January 2015

Young Adult

Hold Tight, Don't Let Go is the vivid story of two teenage cousins, raised as sisters, who survive the devastating 2010 earthquake in Haiti, though they lose the woman who raised them, Manman. They must fend for themselves in the aftermath, living in a camp set up by a charity. Magdalie and Nadine are inseparable, making the best of their new circumstances with an affectionate, lively cameraderie, until Nadine, whose father lives in Miami, sends for her but not Magdalie. As she leaves, Nadine ma...


Cover of Emily Goldberg Learns to Salsa

Emily Goldberg Learns to Salsa

Published 1 November 2007

Children


Cover of Daylight Come

Daylight Come by Diana McCaulay

Published 24 September 2020

Adult


Cover of Empire's End - A Roman Story

A gripping Roman adventure told by a young North African girl who sets out on a danger-filled journey to Britain. When, Camilla, a young North African girl travels with her mother and father from Leptis Magna to Rome in 207 AD, she believes that she is going to the centre of the world. But just a few months later, the little family is dispatched to the very edge of it: Britannica. Tragedy strikes and, left alone with the Empress while her f...


Cover of Voices in First Person

Voices in First Person

Published 26 August 2008

Young Adult

WANTING TO BELONG. WANTING TO GO HOME. LOVE. REGRET. FAMILY LEGENDS. DREAMS. REVENGE. ENGLISH. SPANISH. This eclectic, gritty, and groundbreaking collection of short monologues features twenty-one of the most respected Latino authors writing today, including Sandra Cisneros, Oscar Hijuelos, Esmeralda Santiago, and Gary Soto. Their fictional narratives give voice to what it's like to be a Latino teen in America. These voices are yearning. These voices are angry. These voices are, above all else...


Cover of Furia

Furia by Yamile Saie Mendez

Published 6 October 2021

Young Adult


Cover of Witches Steeped in Gold

Witches Steeped in Gold by Ciannon Smart

Published 20 April 2021

Young Adult

Trust no witch . . .Iraya Adair has spent her life in a cell. Princess of an overthrown and magically-gifted dynasty, she was exiled from her home on the island nation of Aiyca when she was just a child. But every day brings her closer to freedom - and vengeance. Jazmyne Cariot grew up dressed in gold, with stolen magic at her fingertips. Daughter of the self-crowned doyenne, her existence is a threat to her mother's rule. But unlike her sister, Jazmyne has no intention of dying to strengthen he...


Cover of Rima's Rebellion

Rima's Rebellion by Margarita Engle

Published 15 February 2022

Young Adult

An inspiring coming-of-age story from award-winning author Margarita Engle about a girl falling in love for the first time while finding the courage to protest for women's right to vote in 1920s Cuba. Rima loves to ride horses alongside her abuela and Las Mambisas, the fierce women veterans who fought during Cuba's wars for independence. Feminists from many backgrounds have gathered in voting clubs to demand suffrage and equality for women, but not everybody wants equality for all-especially no...


Cover of Emily Goldberg Learns to Salsa

Emily Goldberg Learns to Salsa

Published 8 November 2007

Children

Emily is a Jewish girl from the suburbs of New York. Her mother has family in Puerto Rico, but Emily has never had contact with them—ever. Then Emily’s grandmother dies and Emily is forced to go to the Caribbean for her funeral. Buttoned-up Emily wants nothing to do with her big, noisy Puerto Rican family, until a special person shows her that one dance can change the beat of your heart.


Cover of Undiscovered Country

Undiscovered Country by Jennifer Gold

Published 11 April 2017

Young Adult