Cover of Abela

Abela by Berlie Doherty

Published 1 January 1999

Young Adult

Two girls, from very different places, are brought together in a tale of loss, courage and family. Abela has lost everything, and now she must leave her home in Tanzania and flee to Britain. Rosa's struggling to cope with her mum's wish to adopt a child. When they are brought together, will Abela and Rosa ever be able to love one another like sisters? From the Carnegie Medal-winning author Berlie Doherty, Abela is a powerful and moving story, inspired by the author's visit to Africa.


Cover of The Girl Who Saw Lions

The Girl Who Saw Lions by Berlie Doherty

Published 1 April 2008

Young Adult

Two girls, from very different places, are brought together in a tale of loss, courage and family. Abela has lost everything, and now she must leave her home in Tanzania and flee to Britain. Rosa's struggling to cope with her mum's wish to adopt a child. When they are brought together, will Abela and Rosa ever be able to love one another like sisters? From the Carnegie Medal-winning author Berlie Doherty, The Girl Who Saw Lions is a powerful and moving story, inspired by the author's visit to Af...


Cover of Dancing in the Rain

Dancing in the Rain by Shelley Hrdlitschka

Published 6 September 2016

Young Adult


Cover of Iceling

Iceling by Sasha Stephenson

Published 13 December 2016

Young Adult

Lorna's adopted sister, Callie, is part of a mysterious group of non-lingual teens, Icelings, born on a remote Arctic island, who may not be entirely human. Now Callie wants to go home, in a YA novel that's perfect for fans of Under the Never Sky and The Darkest Minds. Seventeen-year-old Lorna loves her adoptive sister, Callie. But Callie can't say "I love you" back. In fact, Callie can't I say anything at all. Because Callie is an Iceling--one of hundreds of teens who were discovered sixteen ye...


Cover of Most Precious Blood

Most Precious Blood by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Published 1 August 1991

Adult

During one difficult week in her junior year, Val's world falls apart as she learns some truths about her origins, her father's business, and her relationship with her best friend.


Cover of The Other Sister

The Other Sister by S. T. Underdahl

Published 10 August 2007

Young Adult

Josey Muller's regular life--studying with her best friends, planning for the Hollidazzle dance, and gossiping about hot guys--is shaken like a snow globe when her parents drop an A-bomb: she has a sister! Pressured to give up the baby they conceived in high school, her parents are overjoyed to reunite with Audrey. Even Josey's brothers are cool with it. No longer the only daughter and the "smart one" in the family, Josey struggles to accept her infuriatingly friendly, witty, and talented older...


Cover of This Is What It Feels Like

This Is What It Feels Like by Rebecca Barrow

Published 6 November 2018

Young Adult

This tender story of friendship, music, and ferocious love asks: what will you fight for, if not yourself? You Don't Know Me But I Know You author Rebecca Barrow's next book is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Emery Lord. Who cares that the prize for the Sun City Originals contest is fifteen grand? Not Dia, that's for sure. Because Dia knows that without a band, she hasn't got a shot at winning. Because ever since Hanna's drinking took over her life, Dia and Jules haven't been in it. And b...


Cover of Tangled Web

Tangled Web by Shelley Hrdlitschka

Published 15 January 2000

Children

Slowly getting to know each other after being separated at birth and only recently reunited, fifteen-year-old twins, Alex and Tanner, enjoy their summer vacation together but find themselves once again in danger from the same criminal gang that threatened them in the past.


Cover of How to Save a Life

How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr

Published 1 January 2011

Young Adult

From the best-selling author, Sara Zarr, comes the remarkable story of what it means to be a family, and the many roads we can take to become one. Jill MacSweeney just wishes everything could go back to normal. But ever since her dad died, she's been isolating herself from her boyfriend, her best friends - everyone who wants to support her. And when her mom decides to adopt a baby, it feels like she's trying to replace a lost family member with a new one. Mandy Kalinowski understands what it's l...


Cover of When You Never Said Goodbye

When You Never Said Goodbye by Meg Kearney

Published 21 March 2017

Young Adult



Cover of The Finding Place

The Finding Place by Julie Hartley

Published 27 August 2015

Young Adult


Cover of Better Than Picture Perfect

Seventeen-year-old aspiring photographer Ansli Sharp, the adopted daughter of a mayoral candidate, learns that her boyfriend is one of the twenty homeless students in her school and decides to reach out to them.


Cover of Goodbye, Perfect

Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard

Published 8 February 2018

Young Adult

Goodbye, Perfect is a beautiful and emotional contemporary YA novel, with a powerful friendship at its heart, by bestselling author Sara Barnard. Now with a bold updated cover look.When I was wild, you were steady . . . Now you are wild - what am I? Eden McKinley knows she can't count on much in this world, but she can depend on Bonnie, her solid, steady, straight-A best friend. So it's a bit of a surprise when Bonnie runs away with a guy Eden knows nothing about five days before the start of th...


Cover of Ollie and Rosie

Ollie and Rosie by Mario E Lombardo

Published 30 August 2020

Young Adult


Cover of The Authentics

The Authentics by Abdi Nazemian

Published 8 August 2017

Young Adult

Daria Esfandyar is an Iranian American fiercely proud of her heritage. She and her friends call themselves the Authentics, because they pride themselves on always keeping it real. But in the course of researching a school project, Daria learns something shocking about her past, which launches her on a journey of self-discovery. Suddenly, it seems everyone is keeping secrets, and it's getting harder to know who she even is any longer. With infighting among the Authentics, her mother planning an o...


Cover of The Way The Light Bends

The Way The Light Bends by Cordelia Jensen

Published 27 March 2018

Young Adult

A powerful novel in verse about fitting in, standing out, defining your own self-worth, and what it takes to keep a fracturing family whole. Virtual twins Linc and Holly were once extremely close. But while artistic, creative Linc is her parents' daughter biologically, it's smart, popular Holly, adopted from Ghana as a baby, who exemplifies the family's high-achieving model of academic success. Linc is desperate to pursue photography, to find a place of belonging, and for her family to accept...



Cover of The Alex Crow

The Alex Crow by Translator Andrew Smith

Published 10 March 2015

Young Adult

Once again blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith tells the story of 15-year-old Ariel, a refugee from the Middle East who is the sole survivor of an attack on his small village. Now living with an adoptive family in Sunday, West Virginia, Ariel's story of his summer at a boys' camp for tech detox is juxtaposed against those of a schizophrenic bomber and the diaries of a failed arctic expedition from the late nineteenth century. Oh,...


Cover of Know My Place

Know My Place by Eve Ainsworth

Published 1 July 2021

Young Adult

A teenager's longing for family and a place to call home is poignantly portrayed in this heartfelt and ultimately uplifting story of life in the foster-care system from bestselling author Eve Ainsworth. Feeling betrayed when her long-term foster placement breaks down, Amy is sent to live with a new family, the Dawsons. Although initially reluctant to trust them, she eventually starts to let down her guard. But just when it seems like she's found her forever family, she hears a telephone call th...