Cover of A Fatal Obsession

'Absolutely loved it... The characters were some of the best I've read in a long time.' Angela Marsons, no. 1 bestselling author of the Kim Stone series Oxford, 1960. Police constable Trudy Loveday is about to face her first murder case... It's five years since twenty-one-year-old Gisela Fleet-Wright died. But when her former boyfriend is found brutally beaten to death the day after a mysterious note threatened his life, the case is reopened - and, to...


Cover of How to Bake a New Beginning

How to Bake a New Beginning by Lucy Knott

Published 9 September 2018

Adult

All you need is love, laughter and a pinch of Italy! Friendship, family and baking are at the heart of Lucy Osterfeld's debut novel, How to Bake a New Beginning. Perfect for fans of Jenny Oliver, Carole Mathews and Lucy Diamond.


Cover of Dreaming of You

Dreaming of You by Alexa Rivers

Published 1 June 2020

Adult


Cover of Quick Classics Collection: 19th-Century Writers

William Collins Books and Decca Records are proud to present ARGO Classics, a historic catalogue of classic fiction read by some of the world's most renowned voices. Originally released as vinyl records, these expertly abridged and remastered stories are now available to download for the first time. Three of the finest novels of the 19th Century are brought together in this wide-ranging collection. From the rumblings of provincial England in Silas Marn...



Cover of La Tierra Desnuda / The Bare Earth

Un debut con ecos de Delibes y Chirbes. Una novela que nos conecta con la memoria compartida de todo un país. «Un canto pasional, hondo y antinostálgico a una España extinta y salvaje.».-Sergio del Molino «Una excelente novela sobre la historia de la España rural del pasado siglo, de una España tan auténtica como olvidada. Una novela que nos recuerda el vínculo entre la naturaleza y los seres humanos.».-Manuel VilasDecía Luis Buñuel que en su pueblo, en la provincia de Teruel, la Edad Media habí...


Cover of Family Shadows

Will the secrets of the past finally come to light?Morwen and Randall Wainwright have worked through hardship to ensure Killigrew Clay has become the biggest china clayworks in Cornwall. But its fortunes are never stable and threats to its future come from ruthless rival Harriet Pendragon, who sets her sights not only on Killigrew Clay, but on Randall as well. As a bereavement threatens to split the family in two, Morwen begins to wonder if the shadows that have dogged her since she was young w...



Cover of Chiefs

Chiefs (Will Lee, #1) by Stuart Woods

Published 2 June 1982

Adult

In the bitter winter of 1920, the first body is found in Delano, Georgia; the naked corpse of an unidentified teenager. There is no direct evidence of murder, but the body bears marks of what seems to be a ritual beating. The investigation falls to Will Henry Lee, a failed cotton farmer newly appointed as Delano's first chief of police. Lee's obsession with the crime begins a story that weaves through the decades, following the life of a small southern town and the role of three police chiefs in...



Cover of Book of the Little Axe

Ambitious and masterfully-wrought, Lauren Francis-Sharma's Book of the Little Axe is an incredible journey, spanning decades and oceans from Trinidad to the American West during the tumultuous days of warring colonial powers and westward expansion. In 1796 Trinidad, young Rosa Rendon quietly but purposefully rebels against the life others expect her to lead. Bright, competitive, and opinionated, Rosa sees no reason she should learn to cook and keep house, for it is obvious her talents lie in ru...


Cover of The Land Girl

The Land Girl by Allie Burns

Published 8 July 2018

Adult

War changes everything... Emily has always lived a life of privilege. That is until the drums of World War One came beating. Her family may be dramatically affected but it also offers her the freedom that she craves. Away from the tight control of her mother she grabs every opportunity that the war is giving to women like her, including love. Working as a land girl Emily finds a new lease of life but when the war is over, and life returns to normal, she has to learn what to g...


Cover of His Daughter's Prayer

His Daughter's Prayer by Danielle Thorne

Published 16 June 2020

Adult


Cover of Reflection Point: Eternity Springs Book 6

If you love Robyn Carr's Virgin River, don't miss Emily March's warm, uplifting Eternity Springs series! Reflection Point is the captivating sixth novel in New York Times bestselling author Emily March's warm and uplifting romance series about a small town with a big heart. For fans of Debbie Macomber, Holly Martin and Sheryl Woods. Savannah Moore arrives in Eternity Springs, determined to leave her troubled past behind. Her handcrafted-soap shop fits perfectly with the magic of this warm a...


Cover of Redbird

Redbird by Diana Palmer

Published 1 January 2014

Adult


Cover of Death by Chocolate Malted Milkshake

The island fishing village of Eastport, Maine, has plenty of salty local character. It also has a sweet side, thanks to Jacobia “Jake” Tiptree, her best friend Ellie, and their waterfront bake shop, The Chocolate Moose. But when island life is disrupted by the occasional killer, Jake and Ellie put their chocolate treats aside to make sure justice is served.    This summer, Eastport’s favorite lovebirds, kindergarten teacher Sharon Sweetwater and Coast Guard Captain Andy Devine, are getting marri...


Cover of The Oyster Catchers

The Oyster Catchers by Iris Gower

Published 17 September 1992

Adult

Emmeline Powell had been born a country girl, in a small, whitewashed cottage on Honey's Farm. When her father died, Emmeline, bereft and lonely, married Joe Harries, a man much older than herself and one of the fishermen of Oystermouth. The wives of the oyster catchers were sturdy, stoic women, used to helping their men with the catch, and they didn't like the frail outsider who had married into their community. Nina Parks especially didn't like her - Nina was a widow who thought Joe Harries sh...


Cover of Mr. Finchley Goes to Paris

A light romantic novel in which Mr. Finchley, a solicitor's clerk introduced in 'Mr. Finchley discovers his England', goes to Paris where he befriends a stray child and returns to propose marriage.


Cover of Wuthering Heights.

Wuthering Heights. by Emily Bronte

Published 1 October 1910

Adult

Wuthering Heights is the only published novel by Emily Bronte, written between October 1845 and June 1846[1] and published in July of the following year. It was not printed until December 1847, after the success of her sister Charlotte Bronte's novel Jane Eyre, under the pseudonym Ellis Bell. A posthumous second edition was edited by Charlotte. The title of the novel comes from the Yorkshire manor on the moors of the story. The narrative centres on the all-encompassing, passionate, but ultimatel...